Leeds Engine:Histories: Statistics


Steam Locos Builders

As a comparison below is a list of many of the companies and railway works in UK who built steam locomotives.
Builder Quantity Location
NBR 39 St Margarets
Highland 41 Lochgorm
LCDR 54 Longhedge
Taff Vale 84 Cardiff
Caledonian 97 Greemock
North London 163 Bow
London & Birmingham 178 Wolverton
NSR 197 Stoke on Trent
John Fowler 300 Leeds
LSWR 320 Eastleigh
GSWR 392 Kilmarnock
William Beardmore 393 Glasgow
Lancashire & Yorkshire 522 Miles Platting
SER 790 Ashford
GWR 794 Wolverhampton
Yorkshire Engine 800 Sheffield
LSWR 815 Nine Elms
NBR 900 Cowlairs
Robert Stephenson & Hawthorn 1,000 Newcastle
Caledonian 1,000 St Rollox
GCR 1,006 Gorton
NER 1,023 Gateshead
LBSCR 1,211 Brighton
Armstrong Whitworth 1,455 Newcastle
Kerr Stuart 1,500 Stoke on Trent
Nasmyth Wilson 1,531 Patricroft
W G Bagnall 1,660 Stafford
GER 1,702 Stratford
Hudswell Clarke 1,807 Leeds
Lancashire & Yorkshire 1,840 Horwich
Avonside Engine 1,960 Bristol
Manning Wardle 2,004 Leeds
Andrew Barclay 2,053 Kilmarnock
GNR 2,224 Doncaster
Hunslet Engine 2,236 Leeds
Hawthorn Leslie 2,311 Leith
NER 2,369 Darlington
Midland 2,995 Derby
Robert Stephenson 4,190 Newcastle
Dubs 4,485 Glasgow
Sharp Stewart 5,088 Manchester later Glasgow
Kitson 5,405 Leeds
Neilson Reid 5,864 Glasgow
GWR 5,964 Swindon
Vulcan Foundry 6,210 Newton-le-Willows
LNWR 7,331 Crewe
Beyer Peacock 7,761 Gorton
North British Locomotive 11,318 Glasgow
Total 105,382  

Builder Timeline

Below is a diagram illustrating the years that each of the main engine builders operated. For details of the builder acronyms used below please see the history page.
Leeds Engine Builders Time Line

Locos Built by Year

Below is a chart showing loco production in Leeds by year based upon the data in the loco list.
Leeds Engine Builders Time Line